Astrology — What It Is

Astrology: The Concept

About The Zodiac

The circle of the zodiac is divided into 360 degrees. There are twelve signs. Each sign contains 30 degrees.

The outer rim of the horoscope wheel known as the “circle of animals” represents the zodiac. This belt contains the signs. In ancient times, the twelve sectors of the zodiac approximately coincided with the named constellations.

The constellations represent the astrological signs. Constellations have been discovered to be important in astrology.

Technically the signs and constellations no longer coincide in Western Astrology. This is due to the precession of the equinoxes over the millennia. The sun and moon are known as the luminaries. The planets and luminaries move through the signs, the constellations, along the plane of the ecliptic.

Each sign indicates individual sets of deep-seated behavioral characteristics and typical responses to circumstances that people encounter throughout life. Each sign also symbolizes one of the steps on our spiritual journey. The energies of the signs are expressed through the planets and their relationships.

Also impacting an individuals’ responses are the placement on the house cusps, especially some specific angles. Particular planets can be either sympathetic or contrary to specific signs. The path of the planets through the signs reveals the individuals’ map of destiny. The positions of the planets and their relationships determine an individual’s character.

Knowledge of this symbolism is the key to using astrology to understand our reactions and predict our potential futures.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *